Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · D800 died - Nikon Repair???

Grantland
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · D800 died - Nikon Repair???

Hi,

My D800 died the other day before a shoot. Always bring a backup!

What happened? I did a quick card format and check at home and headed off to the shoot. Unpacked the D800 turned it on and the screen blinked and went dead. I change the battery and it did not respond. Did some reading and tried a few things at home over the weekend and it is dead. Off to Nikon today.

Anyhow, I am interested to learn how long I will be without my D800 as this is my first time sending something to Nikon for repair. I shot Canon for 10 years and loved CPS and it's fast turnaround time. Typically with Canon I would ship a broken item on a Monday and have it back in my hands by Friday.

Anyone care to guess when I will be holding my D800 again?

Grant

Feb 05, 2013 at 02:31 AM
Bruce Sawle
• • • •
p.1 #2 · D800 died - Nikon Repair???

Its hard to tell. I have waited 2 months each for 2 different repairs. One repair was my D3x screen went out the other was my 300 f2.8 needed a new lens mount. Other repairs have been on average 7-10 days. It all depends if they need parts and don't have any handy they will have to ship from Japan.

Feb 05, 2013 at 02:45 AM
ScottSchupbach
• • • •
p.1 #3 · D800 died - Nikon Repair???

1 month minimum.

Feb 05, 2013 at 02:46 AM
davenfl
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #4 · D800 died - Nikon Repair???

Grant, we a have substantial number pro bodies, both Nikon and Canon for our family business of 5 commercial photographers. Honestly while I love Nikon (and hold both NPS and CPS status) their service is a crap shoot.