Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Insurance for camera equipment

jasonsim
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Insurance for camera equipment

Hi folks,

This may be an odd question, but wanted to get some options from fellow photogs that might know of a good company to buy insurance for camera equipment. At the moment I have my stuff under a personal property policy with StateFarm. It is okay, but perhaps a better and cheaper option exists.

Thanks,
Jason

Feb 01, 2013 at 02:54 PM
robbymack
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Insurance for camera equipment

Jason I sell insurance for a living, albeit commercial not personal. There are a couple of specialty brokers and carriers to the photography industry, google photo equipment insurance or something along those lines and it will spit out a couple of options. That being said I assume st farm is either your auto or homeowners carrier. There is something to be said for keeping it simple. If you have had good experiences with them I'd say keep it there, there is always the risk of bad service but if they have proven to be good your best off staying put unless pricing is so out of whack it makes no sense anymore. Either way you should shop your personal insurance every 3-4 years just ot be sure youre still getting a good deal. If your current guys have been good (taken care of a claim with no issues etc) then give them the benefit of the doubt and make anyone beat them by at least 10%. There several carriers IMHO that are much more competitively priced than st farm (depending where you live) For both your auto and home. When your policy comes up for renewal get your st farm renewal and then call a local independent broker (one who can shop al