New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · 1dx squeaking sound with sigma 35mm 1.4

Photorph

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 1dx squeaking sound with sigma 35mm 1.4

Hey all. Just looking for some input from those that are more experienced.

Some background. I started shooting with Nikon DSLRs, I owned a lot of their cameras (d70, d40, d80, d90, d300, d700, d800). I also have extensively used the D3s, and more lately my friend's D4. I shoot weddings, events, and also do photography when I travel.

Since I wasn't heavily invested in Nikon, I was easily able to switch to canon w/o much loss. I switched because of the mark iii. The d800 just wasn't working with my work flow because of the 36 mp, and I wanted a more well rounded camera. Could have gotten D4 but didn't have the funds at the time. So I ended up with Canon and the mark iii.

Eventually I was able to save up and I sold the mark iii and am now a proud owner of a 1dx. I love it so far. I just have 2 main issues with it thus far and I'm hoping someone can chime in.

1) When focusing, it makes this squeaking sound. I'm not sure exactly where this is coming from. I would guess the lens but when I move the focusing ring on the lens there is no sound. Only when the camera drives the lens, then there is a squeaking sound. See video below. Excuse the quality, just shot it on my cell phone.

*Update: video removed, issue resolved. Lens was defective*