Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro World | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Set Up Capable of Capturing 10 Microns or Less

hello_scott

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Set Up Capable of Capturing 10 Microns or Less

Hi There,
I am a new member here and this is my first post. I am a Mechanical Engineering Student and am working on a project where I need close up images of droplets of liquid being sprayed. I need a working distance of probably around 25 mm. I have a Canon Rebel T1i with a 100mm macro lens. This can (accurately) measure droplet sizes of 0.05mm. Using a Canon 5D Mark II with the Canon MP-E 65 mm Ultra Macro Lens, it could distinguish 10 micron distances but not as well as I would have liked. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions for a set up that would be able to measure these types of small distances with that focal distance? I am really up for anything at this point and need some expert advice. I was told maybe bellows and extension tubes and some other combination may work but I am unsure at this point. I really appreciate any response. I have pictures and can email them to anyone if they would like more information (I am not trying to spam, it's my university email address which is how I got here).
Thank you very much!
Scott

Jan 29, 2013 at 11:28 PM
jscalev

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Set Up Capable of Capturing 10 Microns or Less

I currently take a number of water drop photos. I take most of my photos with a 100mm macro and obtain photos like this.

The Bubbleship by CalevPhoto, on Flickr

Keep in mind this is not 1:1. I haven't used my MP-E 65 too much for water drops but it was used for this one. The needle should give you an idea of size. This is about 2x.

A Drop of Me by CalevPhoto, on Flickr