New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Lighroom 4 Initial Workflow

Persio
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Lighroom 4 Initial Workflow

Gentlemen,
I am new to Lightroom (just switched over from Capture One) and would like advice on the initial steps in the workflow.
After Importing my images into Lightroom I believe I have two major options:
1) I can go directly into the Develop module and start working on my images or;
2) I can create a Collection based on the recently imported images and then go into the Develop module.
What is the best practice to follow?

My concern is that in option 1 above my adjustments are linked directly to my original images while in option 2 my adjustments are linked indirectly (through the Collection) to my original images.

Please let me have you comments and suggestions.
Thanks,
Persio.

Jan 25, 2013 at 06:55 PM
Eyeball
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Lighroom 4 Initial Workflow

The adjustments are stored in the LR catalog and are always linked to the specific image and it does NOT matter if that image is included in a collection or not.

I don't want to confuse you but here is some additional, related information:

If you are using Virtual Copies, you can have multiple sets of adjustments related to the same image.

Collections do not interfere with how adjustments are linked to images. Via filtering or via the use of Smart Collections, however, you can create and maintain Collections based on adjustments criteria. In other words, adjustments may impact which images are included in a Collection but a Collection in itself cannot impact the adjustments of an image.

Jan 25, 2013 at 07:17 PM
15Bit
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Lighroom 4 Initial Workflow

I save all imports in folders based on year -> date/event. From there everything is organised using collections.