Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Buying factory refurbished lenses...bad idea?

chuckles84
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Buying factory refurbished lenses...bad idea?

Hello, this is my first post on FM and I'm also fairly new to photography. I bought a lightly used D7000 and I'm looking for some additional lenses. Are factory refurbs not worth saving 30% off of new?

Thanks guys, love the site and can't wait to contribute to some of the assignments!

Charles

Jan 24, 2013 at 08:30 PM
Bernie
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Buying factory refurbished lenses...bad idea?

Welcome to FM.

Those more knowledgable about build than me, please correct me. At least on my 18-70 it appears to me there is an internal plastic piece that wears through use. Whether it is used as a spacer or a sort of dry lubricant I don't know, but the zoom jammed at 4 years/11 months. Since I bought new, it was covered under warranty. I doubt the piece would have been replaced during a refurb.

I bought my 16-85 recently as new assuming a similar build with similar future issues. It's build does appear to be better and the zoom action smoother....

Jan 24, 2013 at 08:42 PM
chuckles84
• •
p.1 #3 · Buying factory refurbished lenses...bad idea?

So, just like a lot of things we buy new or used/refurbished, it would be good to make sure there is some kind of warranty. I probably should realize this won't be an inexpensive venture and get my equipment with warranties in place! I bought a Tokina 12-24 f/4 lens used and I love that thing! It's smooth as butter and fairly quiet on auto focus. I have a few other new and used Nikon lenses, but no telephoto lenses. I want to get some good distance shots but want to keep the cost under $800 if possible.

Thanks!!

Jan 24, 2013 at 09:07 PM