New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · PP to Print Workflow

ideal2545

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · PP to Print Workflow

Hi Guys,

I'm new to this and I'm a little confused about the workflow of taking a photo, post processing it and then taking it somewhere to have printed. I am an amateur here so i'm trying to figure it out all out.

So lets say I take a picture of a sunset at the beach. I would take the raw image, and put it into lightroom 4. I adjust the colors until I'm satisfied with what I see on my monitor. Then I take it to a print shop to have a large print made.

Does that sound right?

Do I need to color calibrate my monitor to make sure that what I see on my monitor is what will get printed out on a printer? If thats the case do I need to include some kind of file of the color profile with the images when they go to a printshop? Or am I overcomplicating things here?

The most I understand is that most print shops usually do CMYK printing (I think) and most monitors are SRGB?

Could someone point me in the right direction?

Jan 22, 2013 at 05:05 PM
Bernie
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · PP to Print Workflow

Yes you should calibrate your monitor. Chances are you will also need to adjust its brightness which is normally set way too high. Once you have done this, the profile name should be embedded into the image.

Most print labs accept only sRGB images while others accept other color spaces as well. The better ones will have soft proofing profiles depending on the print paper which you can download.

You may still need to tweak your printed image since you have gone from a luminescent version to a reflective one.

Check with the lab you want to print at what their specific requirements are.

Jan 22, 2013 at 05:32 PM
sbeme
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · PP to Print Workflow