Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2013 · Wedding Hardware and Settings?

Sjjindra
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Wedding Hardware and Settings?

I am an amateur (mainly shoot birds and nature) and have been asked to shoot a wedding in a month for a nice young couple who are good friends on a very limited budget (for life, not just wedding). So it is my gift to the couple. I will lurk the FM wedding forum for tips, but probably not post since it is for professionals. Both the wedding and reception appear to be fairly well lit with primarily fluorescent lighting. Haven't used a flash much, so don't plan to try here.

Plan an afternoon/evening trip to their favorite park a week or two before wedding for a few less formal shots.

Of the hardware in my profile, what hardware would you recommend having on my person during wedding? Reception? Available in vehicle?

What shutter speeds do you find best? Shoot Manual or TV mode? Auto ISO or manual? Auto white balance or fluorescent? Any other tips?

Thanks
Steven

Jan 21, 2013 at 12:27 AM
cgardner
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Wedding Hardware and Settings?

Nice collection of gear but none of the lenses are ideal for weddings / events and I don't see any flash gear listed. The problem with ambient is while there might be plenty of light for exposure the direction is usually not very flattering (shaded eyes).

A gear combination I find overs all the tasks in a event like a wedding (albeit not ideally for all of them) is: