Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Thoughts on this colorful shot?

zippylock
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Thoughts on this colorful shot?

Update in post #7 with new edit

Hey Guys,
I have played around with this a ton. I believe i have actually posted this once before in here, but here is a very new take. I played with layers/exposures and blended, so i hope its pretty smooth... im still learning

How are the blacks? They look great on my screen and like crap on my wife's laptop. My screen is generally better, but this has me worried a little

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8074/8396271079_acc40be9f4_b.jpg

thoughts or C&C?

Thanks

Edited on Jan 20, 2013 at 01:04 AM · View previous versions

Jan 19, 2013 at 11:00 PM
RustyBug
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Thoughts on this colorful shot?

I used threshold layer set to ten and placed a color checker in the four largest (not that large) areas that remained (then turned threshold off). Here are the numbers I got.

That is showing me a strong red cast that has your blacks "not (neutral) black". I also noticed that your file is in Adobe color space. Laptops typically have a more narrow gamut, and depending on how things are set up can have an impact on how they present colors outside their gamut.

Kinda hard to know how much of this is intentional "artistic rendering" vs. a color space issue vs. a PP issue. Can you post up a straight/raw version for comparison?

Jan 19, 2013 at 11:25 PM
Camperjim
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Thoughts on this colorful shot?

The argument can be made that the intense red cast is "natural" because of the color of the light from the setting sun. The red cast is a bit much for my taste. How about cutting back at least on the rocks?