Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Is there something wrong with my 5DIII?

jorgegarcia

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Is there something wrong with my 5DIII?

I am not sure what is going on but some times this happens: iso 10,000, 1/5000, F1.2

After stepping aside and trying again: iso 10,000, 1/5000, F1.2

I am not sure what is going on and it has happened before when shooting a bright white object. Lens used is a 50L 1.2.

also the AF doesnt lock at all in low light. example: ISO 10000, 1/80, F1.2

And the histogram:

I've been shooting Pentax for a few years and feel that my k-5, although slow, would lock in low light situation like these. AF mode was single shot with expanded center focus point. all 9 center focus points.

TIA
Jorge

Jan 13, 2013 at 11:47 PM
bridow
• • •
p.1 #2 · Is there something wrong with my 5DIII?

I use those exact settings to take action shots of ninjas in the dark all the time without a problem. Must be the sensor...

Jan 13, 2013 at 11:54 PM
snapsy
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · Is there something wrong with my 5DIII?

With a shutter speed of 1/5000, the shutter curtains move in tandem, with only a slit open at any point in the image. Based on the width of that underexposed band and the tapering of its tone at the edges it almost looks like the curtains skipped over the center of the image too quickly. Does it only happen at fast shutter speeds? Is the underexposed band always in the center?

Jan 13, 2013 at 11:56 PM
EB-1
• • • • • • •
p.1 #4 · Is there something wrong with my 5DIII?

Is it only with fluorescent lighting? You may be seeing the AC cycling of the lights.

EBH

Jan 14, 2013 at 12:07 AM
scalesusa
• • • •
p.1 #5 · Is there something wrong with my 5DIII?