Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Need help with PP and printing of star/night photo

kevinho

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Need help with PP and printing of star/night photo

This is my first post on FM but I've been following the threads on here for a good amount of time (amazing the talent on here and how much you can learn from that talent).

Anyway, I recently took a trip to New Zealand's South Island. I created a photo book of the trip and was particularly underwhelmed by how the photo I have here turned out in print. Also, this is my first attempt at serious printing of my photos. All the other photos (non-star shots) turned out great. Particularly for this photo, the stars don't "pop" as much on print as they do on the computer screen.

I'd appreciate any and all feedback as to PP techniques required to make sure star photos look their best as I plan to print this photo to frame.

For reference, I used LR4's book module to create the book and sent it to Blurb.com to print and bind. I chose a Standard Landscape, and premium lustre paper (semi-gloss I believe).

NIKON D600    16.0-35.0 mm f/4.0 lens    16mm    f/4.0    30s    400 ISO    0.0 EV  

Jan 12, 2013 at 11:24 AM
Eyeball
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Need help with PP and printing of star/night photo

Here are some suggestions. Since these are prints/printed books, the ideal process would be to run some test prints to fine-tune some of the adjustments I am going to suggest. It can be difficult to match things like sharpening perfectly from screen to print without doing some print tests.

- Glossy paper would give you a little more dynamic range and help with the "pop" in this type of image if Blurb offers it.