Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · 5d Mark II to D800 your thoughts?

amorfoto
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 5d Mark II to D800 your thoughts?

Would like to no your honest opinion from actual users. I've been shooting with my Canon system for several years and don't have a lot of gripes other than the focusing system. I do love my skin tones "very important" that the canon produces. I'm only looking to convert because of the dynamic range and the files becoming very close to medium format. I would greatly appreciate your thoughts from working with your 5d2 too working with the d800.

Jan 08, 2013 at 12:57 AM
Jun Zhou
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 5d Mark II to D800 your thoughts?

if u have a lot of L lenses, you may want to stay with canon

Jan 08, 2013 at 01:10 AM
snapsy
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 5d Mark II to D800 your thoughts?

As always it depends on what you like about the Canon system vs what you believe you'll get from Nikon and what you'll probably hate about Nikon. All things considered my usual advice for existing Canon shooters is to get the 5DM3. OOC skintones to you're liking will be easier on the 5DM3, the ergonomics of the body are much better with the 5DM3 IMO (particularly the grip), LV is worlds better if you rely on that feature, along with video. The base ISO DR differences are significant but depending on your shooting they'll probably come into play less often than the system differences you might regret having to adjust to.

Jan 08, 2013 at 01:14 AM
Avi B
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · 5d Mark II to D800 your thoughts?

You like your over-red skin tones? Stay with Canon Get a Mark III, at least you'll get a functional AF system.