Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · New 6D! First impressions

tshore
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · New 6D! First impressions

I have been shooting a 7D for several years and wanted better high ISO and also ultimate IQ for landscape in a lightweight package for backpacking. I had been dithering over the 5dii, 5diii and 6d for months. I got quoted a great deal on a 6D ($1899 brand new body-only at a local camera store) this weekend and couldn't resist.

After shooting with it over the weekend, first impresions:

The camera is light, almost to the point of being a bit plasticky relative to the 7D. Not objectionable though. I wanted light, and I got it. Build feels about 2/3 of the way between the 7D and a rebel, closer to 7D.

Controls take a little getting used to coming from 7D. The locking mode dial is welcome for me. Other changes not as much. The quick-control dial is smaller, and the controller within it is a little fussier and more awkward than the joystick on the 7D. The tecnique for zooming in on the LCD is completely different - push the mangifying glass button, then use the main dial to zoom in. The 6D method is actually more efficient ergonomically, but it's new and different and still seems awkward to me coming from the 7D.

The sound of the shutter is different. Not as nice as the 7D, frankly. A bit..."cloinkier", and the whole operation just seems to take fractionally longer to unfold. Obviously, both the mirror and shutter are larger than the 7D, so that probably explains it.