Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Raw for Dummies

woodrim

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Raw for Dummies

I've been a photographer for 40 years and very much enjoy digital, but I'm woefully inept when it comes to raw file processing. I use .jpg out of the camera and post process using PS CS5. I'm pretty comfortable using PS for what I do, but do not get close to taking adavntage of its capabilities. Ironically, I was a technical person for 28 years and now have lost patience with the ever changing technologies. Anyway. I think I'm ready to take the plunge to raw but find myself without a clue what to use or how to go about it. May I ask for a suggestion of what might be the best software considering what I've already said about myself? Lightroom? I see I can get a trial download.

Much appreciate any responses.

Jan 06, 2013 at 06:36 PM
howardm4
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Raw for Dummies

You *have* the software.

If you were to start shooting in raw format, Photoshop would open it in 'ACR' (Adobe Camera Raw) processor to start with (the caveat here is that depending on the camera you have, ACR/PS may not directly support your camera's raw format (every camera has a unique format even if the file suffix .nef/.cr2/whatever is the same) (in this case, you'd download the Adobe DNG converter to convert the raw file to .dng and then ACR would be able to open the .dng.

You *can* also start up Photoshop and tell it to Open the .jpg and in the dropdown box, tell it to use Raw. It's like a halfway thing you can get a feel for raw w/o actually having a raw file to work on.