Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Wide angle or Zoom lens for candid family shots?

taylorman22
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Wide angle or Zoom lens for candid family shots?

What type of lens would you prefer if you were shooting candid shots of your kids outside in say the backyard or at a park? Would you prefer something like the Canon 15-85 or a zoom like the 70-200 f4L or maybe a 70-300? Zoom lens or more wide angle? These are the types of shots I'm doing, but I'm still learning about how different focal lengths affect the shot. For example, a 50mm shot framed the same way as one at 200mm will look different.

Also, as I've been reviewing lenses, it just seems like most shots I see from the 15-85 are landscapes or buildings and most with the 70-200/70-300 are people. I'm wondering if keeping the kit 18-55 IS II for WA and getting a good zoom for the family is the best.

Just curious.

Jan 05, 2013 at 10:46 PM
alohadave
• • •
p.1 #2 · Wide angle or Zoom lens for candid family shots?

Do you want to be near to your family and friends while shooting, or do you want to be at a distance?

What you like will determine which lens you should use.

Jan 05, 2013 at 11:18 PM
qwyjibo
• • •
p.1 #3 · Wide angle or Zoom lens for candid family shots?

For me, I shoot between 28mm and 40mm (full frame) for most of my family stuff. In addition, a decent amount of it is more wide open that the 15-85 can provide. If I were in your position (I'm assuming you're on a crop body from the 15-85 reference) I'd think about the canon 17-55/2.8, the tamron 17-50/2.8, the canon 35/2, or the sigma 30/1.4.