Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Advice for night sky shooting on hiking trip

tshore
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Advice for night sky shooting on hiking trip

I am somewhat new to landscape shooting. My usual haunts are sports and birds, with a little macro thrown in. However, I am planning a 3 day hike through Kings Canyon NP next summer with my sons. I hope this will be a very special outing (and unusual...I haven't done much hiking/backpacking), and I want to memorialize it with some great photos, including shots of the night sky...the Milky Way arcing above an Alpine lake, etc... Not so much interested in star trail shots, but more "as seen" night skies.

I am currently shooting a 7D, but am planning on picking up a 6D or 5Diii over the coming weeks, most likely with a 17-40.

I am looking for advice on night sky photography in general, and on lenses in particular. For weight reasons I am looking to take a max of two lenses with me - the aforementioned yet-to-be-purchased 17-40, and potentially one other fast prime for night skies. I will also be picking up a lightweith tripod (any suggestions?)