Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2012 · Just one of those dilemas. 7D vs OM-D for specific use.

802walker
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Just one of those dilemas. 7D vs OM-D for specific use.

I purchased an OM-D about 4 months ago. It's a fun camera to shoot. Right off the bat, I'll say I'm still using the kit lens. I know a lot of people swear by the primes and the holy trinity - I realize they are much better, but I'm on a tight budget and haven't been able to pick one up yet.

I shoot 99% landscapes. I don't take pictures of people, I don't do street shooting, I don't do sports. I'm not a professional, I have made prints before and given them to friends, but I don't sell my work. That being said, I personally get satisfaction out of the landscapes I take and I want them to be the best quality they can be. I'm more of a hiker than a photographer, and my photos that I come away with are memories of my backpacking trips.

With that background, here is my dilema. I've never really been happy with the photos I have taken with the OM-D (all of them being landscapes). I'm not blaming the camera, maybe I just don't know how to shoot with it. I used to shoot Canon and still have my favorite lens, the 10-22. I have recently been considering selling my OM-D and picking up the 7D and reuniting with my first love (the 10-22). I was surprised to read in DPReview that the OM-D got a better score on IQ than the 7D. I don't really know what goes into that IQ score - but maybe it's taking into account all shooting conditions and all I really care about is landscapes. I want high dynamic range, high resolution, etc.

The things I have been thinking: