Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Macro Rail for setting No Parallax Point

scm2000
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Macro Rail for setting No Parallax Point

I am new to panoramas and have been researching different options for getting the proper setup.

It seems very important that the camera/lens is to be set at the nodal or no parallax point to aid in the stitching process. I understand this.

Before I lay out a couple hundred or more on a panoramic head with all the bells and whistles I was wondering if a macro rail (cheaper) could be used instead of all the other fancy gear?

And if so could it be used in vertical orientation with an L bracket?

I understand I may need to get the fancy setup with nodal rail etc., but I was just wondering if there were any other alternatives that work just as well.

Thanks for any help.

Dec 30, 2012 at 12:15 AM
mMontag
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Macro Rail for setting No Parallax Point

For a more complete answer - It maybe helpful to define the parameters of your panoramas - 3 frame stitch - 360's - multiple row - focal length(s) - landscape? - Etc.

Which pano products are you referencing - pano head?

Today's software is really good - it's surprising what can be stitched even hand held or just by tweaking the camera body using a standard tripod & ballhead. Some scenes do require controlling parallax via using pano rail or shift lenses.

Dec 30, 2012 at 12:50 AM
scm2000
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Macro Rail for setting No Parallax Point

mMontag wrote:
For a more complete answer - It maybe helpful to define the parameters of your panoramas - 3 frame stitch - 360's - multiple row - focal length(s) - landscape? - Etc.