New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       end

Archive 2012 · Snakes & landscape shooting in TX

Beverly Guhl
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Snakes & landscape shooting in TX

What do other landscape photographers do to protect against snakes? I started shooting on ranch lands in Texas this year (for myself and for clients), and I was constantly having to watch for snakes. It was so stressful. Tips, advice, clothing and gear suggestions appreciated. I don't want to give up the locations! Thanks!

Dec 27, 2012 at 09:36 PM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Snakes & landscape shooting in TX

Look for kevlar gaiters.

Dec 27, 2012 at 09:54 PM
Beverly Guhl
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Snakes & landscape shooting in TX

Oh my. Gaiters. Just looked that up online! Awesome. I also saw an interesting link to testimonials by folks bitten by snakes, but saved thanks to SnakeArmor. Protective clothing sounds good. Thanks!

Dec 27, 2012 at 10:08 PM
vsg28
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Snakes & landscape shooting in TX

I can vouch for SnakeArmor as well, reliable but not inexpensive stuff.

Dec 27, 2012 at 11:59 PM
123Focus
• •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Snakes & landscape shooting in TX

I guess i can never shoot in texas then. I never thought photography could be this stressful. Be safe out there beverly.

Dec 28, 2012 at 07:01 AM
vsg28
• • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Snakes & landscape shooting in TX

I barely need to use it at all, sorry to scare you off from Texas

Dec 28, 2012 at 10:17 AM
Beverly Guhl
• • • •
p.1 #7 · p.1 #7 · Snakes & landscape shooting in TX

Texas is beautiful, and bites are rare. Snakes are in so many states anyway. I stepped on a snake in Virginia one year, but I was running when it happened, and fortunately I was not bitten. A friend was bitten on the toe by a copperhead one year here in Texas.