New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · sb700 off camera triggering

irlfan82
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · sb700 off camera triggering

So i have Nikon D7000 and a SB700 flash, i would like to be able to trigger the flash with out using the pop up flash. Id like to be able to use the ittl because i have no experience with the flash let alone using it in manaul mode..thanks

Dec 21, 2012 at 08:02 PM
fsiagian
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · sb700 off camera triggering

You need to use the pop-up flash to trigger the sb700 remotely.

Dec 21, 2012 at 08:09 PM
irlfan82
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · sb700 off camera triggering

dont they make something to go into the hot shoe to trigger the flash in ittl mode

Dec 21, 2012 at 08:24 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · sb700 off camera triggering

irlfan82 wrote:
dont they make something to go into the hot shoe to trigger the flash in ittl mode

Yes, you can get a Pocket Wizard MiniTT1 transmitter or Flex TT5 transceiver to mount in the hot shoe, and use a Flex TT5 as a receiver onto which you would mount the SB-700. The PW's ControlTL functions are iTTL-compatible.

May I ask, though, why you don't want to use the pop-up, which is "free," as the commander?

(BTW, are you in Onalaska, WA; Onalaska, WI; Onalaska, Tx; or some Onalaska that I'm not familiar with?)

Dec 21, 2012 at 11:03 PM
fsiagian
• • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · sb700 off camera triggering

+1

Dec 21, 2012 at 11:11 PM
Bruce Sawle
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · sb700 off camera triggering

SU-800 goes on hot show and will trigger the flash.

Dec 21, 2012 at 11:17 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #7 · p.1 #7 · sb700 off camera triggering

Bruce Sawle wrote:
SU-800 goes on hot [shoe,] and will trigger the flash.

Canon's ST-E2 is so underwelming (IMO) that I keep forgetting about Nikon's far superior (also IMO) SU-800.