Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Monitor calibration device. Which one?

photosmile
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Monitor calibration device. Which one?

I am looking to purchase a monitor calibration device and I have a couple of questions.

1) Does a more expensive calibration device better then a cheap one of the same brand ($99 vs $250)?
2) Is one brand better then the other (spyder vs colormunki)?

I am contemplating on a Spyder4 elite vs i1display pro. Anyone use either one and what are the pros and cons?

I am a amateur and have a dell 2209WA monitor.
Thank you
Doug

Dec 16, 2012 at 09:58 PM
Allynb
• • •
p.1 #2 · Monitor calibration device. Which one?

I have had Colormunki for 2 years and it works great every time. I also calibrate my printing profiles to match my screen output. For me, I am very satisfied with it. If you have the funds I recommend Colormunki.

Allan

Dec 17, 2012 at 12:34 AM
sic0048
• •
p.1 #3 · Monitor calibration device. Which one?

The more expensive models usually have more features than the less expensive models (of the same brand). The cheaper models usually have a limited feature set even though the actual hardware is the same.

I think both the Spyder4 Elite and i1Display Pro can be had for $199 right now. So it is a good time to buy!

I recently purchased the i1Display Pro and it is great. Super easy to use and it does the job. I haven't used a Spyder to compare it too, but I have to assume they are pretty similar.

Dec 17, 2012 at 12:39 AM
photosmile
• •
p.1 #4 · Monitor calibration device. Which one?

Thank you Allanb and Sic0048,
I don't mind paying for more if it's necessary but if the lower models cost less and do the same job then why pay more.