New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2012 · DSLR to M 4/3s ?

Jo Dilbeck
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · DSLR to M 4/3s ?

I'm contemplating making a move from my DSLR to a M 4/3s system. I currently use 5D2, 7D and 1D4 with a host of lenses from 16-35 F2.8 to 100-400 to 300 F2.8. I love the qualtiy of images as well as the versatility I have, but I have to be honest, the size and weight of everything I have is getting a wee-bit much as I get older. I bought an Olympus E-PL1 a few years ago for my husband to use. I used it a few times for a travel camera and it was SO LIBERATING to carry a small body with two lenses that all together weighed less than my 1D4 by itself.

I'm not a pro in any way, I'm just an advanced hobbiest. I do sell my work at art fairs, but don't rely on that for any income.

My question is to anyone who has already done this, did you regret it in anyway? Do you have any recommendations for more professional body and lenses? The E-PL1 is nice, but I know I can do better and maybe come a bit closer to the quality of my DSLR kit. I might keep one body and one or two lenses from the DSLR kit "just in case".

Your expert opinions are greatly appreciated as I contemplate this very drastic move!

Jo

Dec 14, 2012 at 12:02 PM
Access
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · DSLR to M 4/3s ?

I think you'll actually find enough people here that use both, out of all the mirrorless systems u4/3 seems to be the most popular with the canon users.