Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · D7000 Micro Adjust...

ChrisCoy
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · D7000 Micro Adjust...

When fine tuning focus on zoom lenses, is it better to use the widest setting on the lens, or the maximum zoom setting? (i.e. 80mm or 200mm) Or is it better to use the middle of the lens?

Dec 07, 2012 at 01:19 PM
cltmte
• •
p.1 #2 · D7000 Micro Adjust...

I am sure others will chime in but from what I have read it is best at the long end where depth of field is more shallow and smaller errors in focus will be noticed. Just my 2 cents.

Mark

Dec 07, 2012 at 01:22 PM
each

p.1 #3 · D7000 Micro Adjust...

I'm kind of new to photography but here's how I understand it for what it's worth.

Focal length: Find the setting at 80mm, then find the setting at 200mm. They will likely be a little different. Then you can take an average of them, and use that. I also shift mine toward the more used focal length so if you tend to be more on the 150-200mm end, I may skew my average a bit in that direction. So if 80mm was a -2 and 200mm was a -10, rather than choosing -6 as my setting for the lens if I shoot at the 200mm end more often I may make it a -8.

Aperture: Your widest aperture will make finding the focal midpoint much easier. The depth of field will be smaller so it will be easier to see were the focused area begins and ends.

Dec 07, 2012 at 01:50 PM
hjanssen
• • •
p.1 #4 · D7000 Micro Adjust...

Try to find out which focal length you use the most and make that the calibrated length.

Dec 07, 2012 at 03:05 PM
Neill Graham

p.1 #5 · D7000 Micro Adjust...