Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · First post here

cmcleod
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · First post here

This will be my first post here, Im truly looking to improve so I looking forward to your comments and critiques. As a disclaimer, I am new to off camera lighting. I have done a tone of reading and exploring to familiarize myself with techniques and absorb as much info as possible, but its time to start learning through my own success and failures (a little bit of critiquing will help too.)

I had an opportunity to shoot a high school volleyball player who was being awarded the All-Area MVP award through the local newspaper. The first three images were the result of what I had envisioned from the start. A key light either camera right or left, high with a square softbox and a rim light behind the subject, bare, showing up in the frame like a spot light. I wanted to kill the ambient light (the gym was completely light) and try to give an overall dramatic feel.

The last image was one of those bonus, only going to realize its there when you get there moments. Walking into the high school there was this large illuminated "D". I knew I wanted to use this so after I felt I got was I was initially looking for, we headed outside to try and incorporate the stained glass.

C&C welcome. Thanks

Cam

Dec 06, 2012 at 10:28 PM
cmcleod
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · First post here

Dec 06, 2012 at 10:29 PM
Steady Hand
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · First post here

Howdy,

Welcome to posting here in this forum.

First...my standard intro to anyone "new" to me on this forum...