New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · The right lens for gymnastics

Jcaron5

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · The right lens for gymnastics

Both of my daughters, ages 5 and 8, are now competing in gymnastics events. I have been shooting with a canon 20D that I have owned for too long now along with a 70-200mm F4 with IS. Since gymnastics events have a "no flash photography" rule I am finding I can't freeze the action as I want to (I am not surprised). So, I am looking for another lens that is better in low(ish) light with action. The 70-200.. 2.8 is a little out of my price range at the moment so I am considering the 135 F2. I can afford the $750- 900 range. If anyone can provide some input I would greatly appreciate it. I am just a hobbyist with only limited experience as most of my photography is simple candid shots of my daughters (where I can use a flash if needed).

Thank you in advance for any input.

Joe

Dec 04, 2012 at 07:25 PM
ALEX88MAC

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · The right lens for gymnastics

should be able to find a used 70-200mm 2.8 non IS for around 1200

Dec 04, 2012 at 07:29 PM
Rick VB
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · The right lens for gymnastics

Joe, I am not a professional but I sold the 70-200 f/4L a few months back and picked up a used 200 f/2.8L II for just over $700. It was an EX+ grade at KEH and looks like new. If you don't mind the prime I think you would really love this lens. I already used it indoors a couple of times shooting volleyball and was very pleased with the results.

Dec 04, 2012 at 07:47 PM
Russ Isabella
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · The right lens for gymnastics