1       2       3      
       5       end

Archive 2012 · 5D3, 6D and D600 true RAW (dcraw) comparison

cgarcia
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.4 #1 · p.4 #1 · 5D3, 6D and D600 true RAW (dcraw) comparison

24Peter wrote:
I'm no expert but shouldn't the image resolutions be "normalized" to make a valid comparison? Won't the noise in the 5DIII image look "better" at 18MP, whereas the noise in the 1DX images look "worse" at 22MP?

Yes, but postprocessing the images comes at a cost, maybe introducing an additional variable in the already difficult comparison. I think that the other approach (to measure the noise difference and compare it with the correspondence in resolution terms) is also valid: that is, if a given camera has one full stop advantage in noise over other camera but has half the pixels, both have the same ISO performance upon physics laws (well, we depend on noise reduction algorithms performance when trading image resolution for noise). The 1DX vs 5D3 resolution difference should end in about 1/3 f-stop (log2(22/18)) noise advantage for 1DX at pixel level (eg. 1DX at ISO 1000 should match 5D3 at ISO 800) ending in the same noise at "image level" after applying the proper cleaning+downsizing+sharpening software to 5D3.

Dec 04, 2012 at 09:40 PM
cgarcia
• •
p.4 #2 · p.4 #2 · 5D3, 6D and D600 true RAW (dcraw) comparison

mmurph wrote:
That looks like it will be a very nice lens, assuming it performs to expectations. Canon has a very good track record with their recent lens updatyes. In additiona to the higher optical and build quality than previous models, the focusing is also much more precise on the newer camera bodies.

If you are able to get it in a kit at a good price it would definitely be a good purcahse. I think Lensrentals.com will likely have the first "authoritive": say whenm they get their copies.

My version I 24-70 is my favorite lens ever. I am still hoping to
...Show more