Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Alaska- Mt McKinley

Charlie Shugart
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Alaska- Mt McKinley

I was reviewing some things in the Feb 2010 issue of Outdoor Photographer and- on page 16- came across a scene I remembered from the summers I worked in Alaska.
So I dug out this Kodachrome slide, scanned and processed it, and here it is.
The angle is slightly different than the published image, and my in-camera crop is tighter, plus there are other differences.
And I'm definitely not meaning to compare the two regarding quality; after all, that image was published in the magazine- and mine was not.
I just thought it was a curious coincidence.
BTW- I was a tour bus driver/lecturer at the time, and pulled off the George Parks Highway. Forty passengers piled out for the view, and the cameras clicked away (this was back when SLR mirrors were loud).
I used a 70-210 zoom and was near the long end of the range.

Dec 02, 2012 at 09:37 PM
stanparker
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Alaska- Mt McKinley

A beauty, Charlie, and I appreciate what a rare opportunity that was.

Dec 02, 2012 at 10:43 PM
dswiger
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Alaska- Mt McKinley

Charlie.
Really like this one. Just wish for a bit wider view to the right.
The near "rock/peak" gives depth & perspective.

Dan

Dec 02, 2012 at 11:37 PM
Charlie Shugart
• • • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Alaska- Mt McKinley

Thanks Stan and Dan.
Because no roads take you closer than about 50 miles from Mt McKinley,
and the mountain is so massive and ice-covered that it makes its own climate,
and it's close to the ocean,
and summer is the rainy season in many parts of Alaska...
well, when "the mountain is out," in summer, it's always a thrill.