1       2      
       end

Archive 2012 · do you shoot raw?

gheller
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · do you shoot raw?

Didn't read entire thread, but gotta put my .02 in

IMO, if somebody makes 51% + of their income with photography, I would consider them pro.

YMMV

It is certainly a grey area and debating does no good.

FWIW, I have been shooting pro for 10+ years (80+% of income from photography) and I shoot .jpeg - not that there's anything wrong with that

greg

Dec 27, 2012 at 02:47 PM
friscoron
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · do you shoot raw?

The reason this debate -- who is a professional photographer -- continues to be revisited over and over again in all the forums is because, quite simply, there is no single accepted definition of a professional photographer. And for some reason, some people care about who has earned that title, and who hasn't earned it.

Nothing is ever going to stop some people from calling themselves a pro because in their definition, they qualify. As for me, I don't really care who calls themselves a pro as it just doesn't impact me. The title itself does not get them jobs over me. Only their work, and their personality, and all the other variables that come into play, can get a person a job over me.

And on the flip side, I don't really care who considers me a pro or not. No one decides what titles I carry in my pocket. And when I'm meeting with clients, I haven't yet... not even once... been asked if I was a professional photographer. I'd like to think that they assume it.

Dec 27, 2012 at 03:21 PM
RDKirk
• • • • •
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · do you shoot raw?

And on the flip side, I don't really care who considers me a pro or not. No one decides what titles I carry in my pocket. And when I'm meeting with clients, I haven't yet... not even once... been asked if I was a professional photographer. I'd like to think that they assume it.