Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · 5D II AF system compared to 50D

bvphotos
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 5D II AF system compared to 50D

I have the 50D and 5Dc. I love the latter, but I understood all the complaints about its AF system a few days ago when I shot at a relative's wedding. The AF system failed me on a number of occasions. The 50D's AF system, on the other hand, is much better.

So, I'm considering upgrading from 5Dc. I know that 5D III would be a no-brainer, but as a serious amateur, I can't justify the price for what I'm going to use it for. Is the 9-pt AF on 5D II comparable to the one on the 50D, particularly the outer points. If so, I think I can persuade myself to buy that (new or used) as a replacement for my 5Dc. The alternative would be the 6D, but since it's not out yet, we don't know how it will behave in the real world.

Nov 27, 2012 at 09:56 PM
Ralph Conway
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 5D II AF system compared to 50D

I did not own a 5D. But I owned a 50D and own a 5D II now. Both are excellent cameras. But I use(d) center AF point only/most, so I can not really say something about the outer points. I can say 6Ds outer points worked more reliable than my 5D II ones.

If you can wait, wait. It is just a couple of days now to see how 6Ds work in the real world. Sometimes I wish I would have taken the blue pill and not have see into the rabbit hole ...

Nov 27, 2012 at 10:06 PM
Gochugogi
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 5D II AF system compared to 50D