New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Dog/animal portraits?

Nickyb21
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Dog/animal portraits?

Looking to practice shooting animal portraits. I have a D3100 right now but i can get my hands on a D7000. I have a 35 1.8g right now as my main lens to shoot with (also got a 50-200 zoom and the kit lens) and my buddy has a 12-24mm f/4G on his D7000. I was wondering what do you think would be the best lens to capture these doggies?

And no, I'm not looking to hop on craigslist and say I'm a pro pet photographer lol.

Nov 27, 2012 at 12:09 PM
snapsy
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Dog/animal portraits?

The 35 f/1.8 is actually a great lens for pets, provided they aren't moving too fast. I also like to use wide and ultra wide lenses on dogs to exaggerate their cute features, like their snoots and ears.

Nov 27, 2012 at 12:27 PM
Nickyb21
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Dog/animal portraits?

Thanks! I've been using my 35 a lot and I love the thing! Wasn't sure if there was a better lens for this application though.

Nov 27, 2012 at 12:44 PM
Genes Home
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Dog/animal portraits?

Hi,

Well..............you can use ANY lens you want for portrait photos as long as you like the effect. We have a really cute poster at our dog club of "doggy noses" of different breeds taken with wide angle and ultra-wide angle lenses. Different and fun, and therefore worthwhile as everyone who comes in has to chuckle at the shots.

On the other hand, and relating my experience only, generally something between 50mm and 85mm gives the best rendition and proportions of the head/face without foreshortening or distorting the features. This length range also gives you more working distance, which seems to make it easier to handle and pose the pups.