Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              6       7       end

Archive 2012 · Demand for used 1D - series cameras going down?

Mikael B

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Demand for used 1D - series cameras going down?

Hi,

I've been owning 1D2 camera for about 2 years and decided to sell it sometime ago. Even though the camera was in good shape and there were 83k clicks on it, the demand for it wasn't something I expected for. I think the price wasn't the issue here as it was very much in line what others have been selling on the same forums. I switched in the end to 5D2 through my local dealer and gave the 1D2 during the trade.

But I have since been following some buy/sell forums where I have seen many 1D2, 1Ds2 and 1D3 cameras for sale, but they just don't seem to be selling even after several months. At the same time market for 5D-series is actually going quite ok and 5D2 seems to be quite hot product (many jumping from 5Dc to 5D2 or from 5D2 to 5D3).

I'm just wondering if the arrival of 5D3 has actually made some of the older 1D-series cameras look very much obsolete in eyes of potential buyers? Anyone else noticed this? Or is this maybe only related to Finnish camera market...

Mikael

Nov 23, 2012 at 01:36 PM
Cicopo
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Demand for used 1D - series cameras going down?

I'd say you're right based on the local market.

Nov 23, 2012 at 02:05 PM
safcraft
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Demand for used 1D - series cameras going down?

Imagine what will hapen when they launch a mini-1D, like cut-down-size version.
Same philosophy form 5d>6d ...1D>mini 1D.
Perfectly possible and extremely usable...1D cameras ate too big for today's tech.