Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · If your budget was $3000 what would you do?

rlattimer

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · If your budget was $3000 what would you do?

Hey everyone. I'm an amateur photographer, and I'm looking to get in to it a little bit more seriously. I've got a budget of $3000 and I'm stuck between 2 options:
1. Nikon D600 and some sort of all around lens 28-300mm?
2. Nikon D7000 and then get some really nice glass, like the 24-70 2.8?

I need the camera for a Safari trip I will be going on, but I could always rent a lens. I would say I mostly photograph landscapes and portraits.

Thanks for any advice!

Nov 18, 2012 at 02:34 PM
FredAz

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · If your budget was $3000 what would you do?

see the Costco package on the D600....
Two lenses, plus the wifi module.
All slightly less than $3k.

Nov 18, 2012 at 02:38 PM
trenchmonkey
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · If your budget was $3000 what would you do?

+1 good call, Fred

Nov 18, 2012 at 02:45 PM
highcontrast
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · If your budget was $3000 what would you do?

Yes that CostCo deal is sweet!

Nov 18, 2012 at 02:55 PM
leighton w
• • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · If your budget was $3000 what would you do?

If it were me, and I considered myself an amateur, and I was going on safari, I'd get the D7000 with a 70-200 f2.8. This would let you get out there and touch some of those wild critters! But that's just me.

I'd add a 35mm f1.8 G for good measure.

Nov 18, 2012 at 02:56 PM
workerdrone
• • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · If your budget was $3000 what would you do?