New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Suggestion to 1DX owners

PetKal
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Suggestion to 1DX owners

I have been using 1DX more-or-less continuously for almost 3 months now, and the camera has just over 20,000 actuations.

What I plan to do tomorrow is pull out my old and trusty 1DMkIIN and shoot the same type of targets using the same lens, as I have done with 1DX today.

I'd like to try to assess the handicap which the old camera should introduce into Servo AF tracking. Will there be a readily discernible handicap, and will it manifest itself in the keeper rate ?

This is a reversal of the usual gear evaluation method we use: when we get an updated/upgraded camera or lens we generally start using it full time, and we look at performance gains we've made with it.
What I'd like to do now is look at the performance loss by going backwards, i.e., downgrade the camera I use.

If any 1DX owners would like to join me in this reverse 1DX AF evaluation, we could compare our notes in this thread. Obviously, you need to have an older 1D camera such as 1DMkIV, 1DMkIII, 1DsMkIII, etc.

This evaluation should really address the Servo AF performance only, as I believe all other issues, such as high ISO performance, are pretty much clear cut.

Nov 17, 2012 at 08:13 PM
John--G
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Suggestion to 1DX owners

Been there and done that with my 1D-X compared to my MkIV bodies. No comparison. 1D-X is in a different league. I probably have 100,000 shots on my 1D-X in the last 6 months.

There's no point is comparing older bodies as the MkIV was the next best body AF wise - it continues to go downhill from there.

Nov 17, 2012 at 08:41 PM
spdntrxi
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Suggestion to 1DX owners

yep bought a 1DX.. sold my 1DIV 3 weeks later..

Nov 17, 2012 at 08:46 PM
ggreene
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Suggestion to 1DX owners