Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Which shutter release for 5d mark iii

jaehoppa
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Which shutter release for 5d mark iii

I'm new to canon and i'm looking for a shutter release to use on my 5d mark iii for tripod work and timelapse (maybe). Which one do you guys recommend? Might not do timelapse so a wireless one would be ok.
Thanks.

Nov 15, 2012 at 06:16 PM
Todd Klassy
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Which shutter release for 5d mark iii

It's hard to go wrong with the Canon TC-80N3 time/remote control. I have owned one for years and it works great. However, there are some interesting new products on the market out there that are worth considering if you own a smart phone. The only down side of the TC-80N3 is its price. There are cheaper Chinese knockoffs for sale on eBay that perform almost as well.

I was recently sent a Triggertrap Mobile (http://triggertrap.com) to test. It is essentially a cable that connects your camera to your smart phone and then with the use of an app you are able to do many more things than the Canon TC-80N3 was ever capable of doing, including:

Timelapse
Eased timelapse (Tutorial)
Sound sensor
Shock & Vibration sensor
Metal & magnetism sensor
Facial recognition
LE HDR (Tutorial & limitations)
LE HDR Timelapse mode
DistanceLapse mode (Tutorial)
Motion detection mode
Cable Release mode
Star trail mode
Bulb Ramping Timelapse