New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Video with D600

hijazist
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Video with D600

I was asked to do a video shooting for a guy giving a presentation and I have never done video before. I was honest with the guy and told him he would better be off with someone more experienced in this but he insisted and he said that I should at least give it a try.

Now I am not going to ask you how to direct the video or about other technicalities but rather which lens to use, D600 settings, aperture, Manual focus vs. Auto focus, ISO, etc... Please if you have any useful information or tips I appreciate it. My setup:

Nikon D600
Nikon 28-300
Nikon 50 1.8G
Nikon 105 2.5 AIS
Sigma 12-24

If you have lens suggestions please let me know since I have time to buy a lens for the shooting.

Cheers!

Nov 13, 2012 at 06:21 PM
Avi B
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Video with D600

105 2.5

Nov 13, 2012 at 07:05 PM
Gregstx
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Video with D600

hijazist, You probably don't need to buy any lenses, just on the limited information you have provided. Obviously the 28-300 will give you the most flexibility. There is no way to know ISO or aperture without knowing how much lighting is available. If you are shooting off a tripod, I would use manual focus. I don't know if your 28-300 will stay in focus as you zoom in and out, but you might have to rack focus if you want to zoom during shooting.

Nov 13, 2012 at 07:47 PM
hijazist
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Video with D600

Thanks for the suggestion I will be using a fluid head tripod that I can borrow from my university so that would help a lot. I guess I will use manual focus since the 28-300 hunts a lot with AF and I'll keep a small aperture to have better fluid focus transitions. I also think the D600 will take care of ISO.