Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Color Management Issues

JimKied
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Color Management Issues

Hello all. I'm a long time lurker and I have made a few occasional posts, but I mostly am in awe of all of your's knowlege and talent as it comes to photography and post processing. I am slowly accumulating the tools to take my skills to the next level, but right now the tools are leading the skills.

I am mostly self-taught, learning from books, magazines, and hints that some of you drop from time to time. I'm a Nikon shooter and I currently am running CS6 (for about two months now) having moved up from PSE. I have a Dell 2410 monitor and it is color calibrated with Huey Pro that a friend gave me. The 2410 has several preset modes. I am using the standard mode, even though it also has a aRGB mode. I tried the aRGB mode and I was not happy with how it saturated the colors (looked unatural to me).

I am using the aRGB color space, try to do as much processing in ACR as I can, and load into PS as a smart object. I save as PSD for a master file. When I am ready to share my images, either on the web or as prints I use the master file, flatten, change to sRGB, resize as necessary. Sharpening is a whole 'nother issue that I will adress in another thread later. Right now I need to figure out what I am doing wrong with color management.