New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · First time

serialmike

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · First time

New to the site. Very new to photography. Just started end of August. I want to get better so I figure no better place than here.

http://i669.photobucket.com/albums/vv53/serialmike/Posts/IMG_8920wss.jpg

Oct 30, 2012 at 01:45 PM
ben egbert
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · First time

Welcome to the forum, you have a nice first start here. As an ex bird photographer, I know how difficult these can be. Even backyard birds can be a challange.

You have a good exposure, the subject is sharp, good eye contact and a good pose. But there is too much clutter for a high quality bird image. The twigs in front of the bird hurt the most, but the rest would be hard to deal with even if the others were not there.

The image could also use a crop, especially the left side. This appears to have just a wee bit more DOF than is optimum for isolating the bird. A 500f4 would be nice, a 400 f5.6 while sharp, will have more dof. As you get shorter and slower, you gain dof and lose isolation. Also as you get closer, you lose dof, so close can be good far not so good.

I used to shoot these nuthatches in my back yard at 30+ feet or so and needed 700mm and still had heavy crops.

Oct 30, 2012 at 01:55 PM
serialmike

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · First time

Thank you very much.

I think I should provide a little info. This was shot with a T2i and a 100-400L. Shot at 400mm F5.6 1250shutter.

Oct 30, 2012 at 02:03 PM
ben egbert
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · First time

Ok, thats a good bird lens and a crop camera is generally good for birds too.