Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Moving into a bit of paid work faster than I expected, lo...

zwilliamson

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Moving into a bit of paid work faster than I expected, looking for some gear advice

Sorry if this rambles a bit...about a year and a half ago, I bought my first 'serious' camera, a 60D, for film making. I quickly picked up a couple lenses and started using it to shoot at work and some projects for school (I'm a senior COMM/Film student at Northeastern). Through my office, I picked up paid freelance video work, and earlier this year I decided to purchase a used 5Dmk2 on FM. Since then, I've started working at a different company, in a completely different role, that doesn't really involve shooting stills or video. However, I'm on the varsity rowing team at NU, so I have a lot of friends on other teams. I've been photographing my own team over the last year and those images attracted enough attention through facebook that I had requests to shoot my friends games. I went to a friend's volleyball game in September with my 60D and 70-200 f/2.8 IS II and got some okay results--but still very amateurish. However, since big white L glass tends to attract attention, the sports editor of NU's paper approached me and asked if I would shoot for them. Then the athletic department saw some of my images, where I captured great moments from the game, and asked if I would share the pictures. Seeing an opportunity to start a relationship here, I purchased a 7D used and sold my 60D the next week. I've been shooting for the paper on a weekly basis, and the athletic compliance office just cleared me for compensation when I shoot for the SID. (There were all kinds of potential compliance problems because I am currently an a D1 team)