New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Setting up SpectraView II Software

Twisties
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Setting up SpectraView II Software

I am using a NEC PA271W, SpectraView II software and a ColorMunki in a W7 environment. Images are shot in RAW and mostly processed in LR4.

What do you recommend in setting up the SpectraView II software for getting the closest match between:

What I see on my monitor and what I get from a typical professional commercial printer (typically Nichols in Salt Lake City)?

What I see on my monitor and a home-based printer (presently an Epson R800)?

Beyond setting the monitor up properly, can anyone point me to a resource on the rest of the printing process?

Thanks!

Oct 22, 2012 at 11:18 PM
Mike Pearson
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Setting up SpectraView II Software

Hi Twisties,

First, I am by no means an expert in this area. But I think you are taking the wrong approach so I’ll say so on the basis that the real experts will correct any errors.

A couple of years ago I got into printing pretty heavy for a short time (I only have so many walls). The approach my research lead me to, and which worked for me, was to set the monitor based on the conditions under which the picture would be viewed.

I saw a lot of folks saying you should always set the color temp at 6000K, others saying 6500K etc. That did not work for me. Further research found folks saying that if you were going to view the pictures under noon outside light those color temps were just fine, but if you were going to be viewing them in the average house you needed to set your monitor a lot warmer. That worked for me. I ended up at 5000K.