Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · 1DX Exposure Concern

Ben Amato
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · 1DX Exposure Concern

My 1DX seems to underexpose much more than my Mk IV or III. It seems I need to apply +2/3 to 1 compensation for all indoor events. Then the shots are still underexposed when I edit. Never had this with either of my other cameras. I'm guessing that I have something turned on that shouldn't be. Any thoughts?

Ben

Oct 22, 2012 at 02:14 PM
jcolwell
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · 1DX Exposure Concern

I haven't noticed this, and I often use the 1DX and 1DIV together. OTOH, I'm just beginning to figure out how I want to set it up - there are sooo many settings.

Oct 22, 2012 at 02:24 PM
Sheldon N
• • •
p.1 #3 · 1DX Exposure Concern

Mine does seem to underexpose slightly in some situations, usually in order to protect highlights. In other scenes it seems spot on.

I haven't decided if I want to apply a global exposure compensation in the custom functions yet, but it is an option.

Oct 22, 2012 at 04:07 PM
bigrob

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #4 · 1DX Exposure Concern

Ben

Are you shooting with ISO set as Auto when this happens?

Oct 22, 2012 at 04:17 PM
Deborah Kolt
• •
p.1 #5 · 1DX Exposure Concern

Canon's cameras in general seem to underexpose a bit. I've noticed on my students' rebels, and XXDs and suspect it is a safety feature, so that the inexperienced photographers don't blow out the whites completely. It also used to be the case with the 1 Series cameras prior to the Mark III. My IDII and IIN were always set to +1/3 EC, otherwise it underexposed.