New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Fitting 496RC2 on a Gitzo 1325

hijazist
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Fitting 496RC2 on a Gitzo 1325

This could be a stupid question but this is my first time using a ballhead and I tried to research before asking but couldn't find much information.

I followed the advice of most experienced photographers to save up for a good tripod and I did and finally got the Gitzo 1325 from B&S for a great price and couldn't be happier with everything about it. Now I also got a Manfrotto 496RC2 ballhead since it's affordable and got favorable reviews. The problem is when I install it on the base of the Gitzo the locking knob of the ballhead does not fully rotate cause it's obstructed by the base. The ballhead also looks silly since it's a lot smaller than the tripod's base.

Edit: The other problem is when I install the head on the base the only way I can release the head is to use a wrench to twist the bolt underneath the base. The head just twists without any effect. Is this the normal way of releasing the head?

Do I need another part that goes between the head and the base or should I just get a head compatible with the tripod? Do you have suggestions for a ballhead within a similar price range?

I appreciate it

Edited on Oct 15, 2012 at 05:51 PM · View previous versions

Oct 15, 2012 at 05:07 PM
sjms
• • • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Fitting 496RC2 on a Gitzo 1325

a photo would be a plus

Oct 15, 2012 at 05:23 PM
hijazist
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Fitting 496RC2 on a Gitzo 1325

I will post photos as soon as I get home. Thanks

Oct 15, 2012 at 05:52 PM
dcains
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Fitting 496RC2 on a Gitzo 1325