Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Jewelry light setup. Silver, mirror like jewelry.

pentool
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Jewelry light setup. Silver, mirror like jewelry.

hi. can you guys share your jewelry light setup. specially silver, white gold jewelry.
any helpful tips on jewelry photography. like how do you hold the jewelry, background etc. thanks.

Oct 11, 2012 at 03:42 AM
John Skinner
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Jewelry light setup. Silver, mirror like jewelry.

This is a loaded question.

There are SO many ways and reasons to shoot these items. I have been shooting jewelry for well over 20 years, and for the most part, it feeds me.

Jewelry is sometimes shot on people, where as it's all about effect, message, concept and drawing one's eye and attention to IT, the product. So selective focus and gradients work well.

For stand alone pieces, those $25.00 Chinese white light boxes sold on eBay really work great. Depending on what you want to do with final edits, it's pretty easy to extract these pieces out of the frames and place them in any conceptual look your after.

You'll find that placement and being clean (especially on watches) is one of the real issues. Acrylic (clear)(white) bases, silly-puddy, fishing line (easy to edit out), and finally the book by Corey Barker on compositing are, and will be your best friends.

Oct 11, 2012 at 05:01 PM
pentool
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Jewelry light setup. Silver, mirror like jewelry.

thanks. im kind of struggling with creating gradients, just the reflections in general.
flat surface have been easier, but a jewelry such as a reflective silver bracelet with round edges that waves in and out, up and down, giving me trouble.