New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Canon 1Dx Backup

gcuff
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon 1Dx Backup

I am considering upgrading to the 1Dx but was wondering what people use as a backup. I currently have the 1D IV, 5d III and the 7D. I am sure most people will say the 1d IV but that is a lot of camera to be just a backup (I am just a hobbyist). Seeing the 1Dx is stellar as both a wildlife and landscape camera (which are my interests), the backup would only be used infrequently where reach was necessary or when two lenses had to be at hand e.g. safari.

I was thinking of keeping the 7D. I know the controls are not the same, different batteries etc but its not a bad camera. Is this sensible?

Regards

Geoff

Oct 09, 2012 at 08:45 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon 1Dx Backup

Mine is the 1DIV. The 7D is not in the same class as the 1DX and 1DIV. I haven't used a 5DIII, yet I'm confident that the 5DIII is also a much better camera than the 7D, which I have owned and used extensively. YMMV.

Oct 09, 2012 at 08:52 AM
VladiD
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Canon 1Dx Backup

As a hobbyist, I wonder why you feel the need to have a backup body to the pro-level 1DX in the first place.

Oct 09, 2012 at 09:03 AM
gcuff
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Canon 1Dx Backup

VladID:

Not sure I completely understand your reply. Are you suggesting I dont need a 1Dx which is possible Or are you suggesting I need only travel with 1 camera body? That seeems risky.

Regards

Oct 09, 2012 at 09:06 AM
martines34
• • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Canon 1Dx Backup

I would keep the 1DIV as my backup.

Oct 09, 2012 at 09:18 AM
Roland W
• • • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Canon 1Dx Backup