New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Enlarging for Print

buckeyeguy1
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Enlarging for Print

I would love to hear your guys'/gals' workflow for enlarging images for print. I don't have any experience in the matter, but have three images that I would like to enlarge to 20x30.

From what I have read so far is that to enlarge a 12MP (RAW, 14-bit Uncompressed at base ISO) image from my D700 to 20x30, the image needs to be as close to perfect as possible straight out of camera as far as exposure and cropping are concerned. I do understand, that viewing distance does play a role in the perceived quality of the print. My intent is for the three images I have to be viewed from around 4-5 feet.

I have Lightroom 4 and CS6 and am doing my work on a calibrated Dell Ultrasharp 24" monitor. I am new to Photoshop, but am starting to get to know my way around it pretty well.

Thanks ahead of time for any help!

Oct 08, 2012 at 03:53 PM
Kittyk
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Enlarging for Print

makes no sense to enlarge it unless you are using some wicked smart enlarging plugin. printer driver will adapt it and dither it about as good as photoshop will.
quality of the print is given by content. sharpness is always perceived relatively so as long as the photo is not sharp on wrong places and unsharp elsewhere it will look good.
if you have photo with lots of small detail you should not go under 60dpi for normal wall installation but again, depends on content.

Oct 08, 2012 at 07:54 PM
egd5
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Enlarging for Print

I have been amazed at what Lightroom will do. I really think all you need to do is print it through Lightroom. It will take care of everything.