Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Buying a D600. Keep the kit lens or start with primes?

Slabshaft
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Buying a D600. Keep the kit lens or start with primes?

Preface:
I'm basically a hobbyist shooter, so I like to shoot just about anything, but it's mostly landscapes. I only recently moved out of shooting 6x7 film. Believe it or not, spending 3-4k on the Nikon gear will SAVE me money over shooting film+drum scanning each slide (read: $50+/shot). I also plan to make this a life-time purchase, meaning I will use this thing until either I die or it dies. My plucky old Canon 350D is still ticking despite it's beat-up condition. It's images just never satisfied, despite the 17-40L lens I bought for it. I think the color gamut of slide film combined with the level of detail, amazing bokeh and giant viewscreen of the 6x7+prime lenses just turned me off from digital until recently. So, out comes the D600 which seems to satisfy every aspect of what I enjoy about the 6x7 film. The viewfinder isn't even close to as good as the one on my RB67, but it's still big and very nice to look through. Anyone who has used a 6x7 knows what I'm talking about!

Moving on:
I would like to keep the total initial price of the new kit (body, lens(es), memory cards and ND filter) below $3500. I will upgrade my ridiculous 7-pound tripod later.

Here's my dilemma: I can buy the D600 body and start with a couple of good primes OR stick with the kit lens and collect primes later OR do a cheaper ultrawide zoom + normal prime. I'm a huge fan of prime lenses. I want the optical quality and I love the way they look through the viewfinder.