Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Video or die?

david debalko
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Video or die?

I have been photographing professionally for over 30 years, I have a photographer friend that constantly tells me video is the future, if I don't move that direction my business will shrink. Today I was at a camera store and I got the same talk from a sales associate there. I have the D4 so I can do video, (although I know the camera is just skimming all that is needed for video) I just have very little interest . I am wondering of the pros here how many have gone to video and how many are staying with stills? Dave

Sep 28, 2012 at 07:09 PM
RDKirk
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · Video or die?

I'm staying with stills for a while longer. At least until I perfect something like this and there are 30x40 digital wall frames to run them in.

https://vimeo.com/11239413

Sep 29, 2012 at 02:48 AM
jefferies1
• • • •
p.1 #3 · Video or die?

I think it is a buzz word due to the popularity of You Tube. I do some video as promotion because I understand the SEO power of it. Getting clients to do video is a lot more work than photos. Few like to be on camera so they must hire out. Even if they are OK with being recorded talking is a lot more complicated than you might think. It all adds up to higher cost and a lot more time than doing stills.
Stills have a lot more use for a long time to come. My clients want high quality stills.

Sep 29, 2012 at 07:04 PM
RDKirk
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · Video or die?

To go along with jeffries1, the same level of professional quality in video requires a much more extensive effort than it takes in video.