Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · HS Varsity Football

laxlife1234
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · HS Varsity Football

So the coach asked me to take shots this year and I agreed. You guys can probably tell I'm not a pro with sports.... if anything I'm pretty bad, haha, but I try to capture any and all action. I am using a D700 + 70-200 (I shoot portraits which is why I use FF). Here's a bunch from the last game:

I'm open to CC if anyone has any, I don't plan on doing this as my job or really any more of it unless I get paid for it. I try to get the action as much as possible and I'd like a 300 for sports but my 70-200 works fine.

Sep 25, 2012 at 07:52 PM
Russ Isabella
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · HS Varsity Football

Not bad. #1 is the only one that doesn't work for me at all. Generally, I think many of these could benefit from tighter crops to bring the attention more directly to the most significant action. Colors and exposure look very good.

Sep 25, 2012 at 07:59 PM
laxlife1234
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · HS Varsity Football

Thanks, yeah with #1 I had 2 pictures... the ball was in the frame but he wasn't in focus

I would crop tighter but if people want prints they wont print well then, most of them are >50% crops as it is. I know most people frown upon raw because of the size and the sake of convenience but I shot JPEG a bunch of times with sports and I still can't get the pictures to where I want them especially since a lot of the highlights need recovery or the shadows need pulling so I shoot RAW.

Sep 25, 2012 at 08:05 PM
ChrisFWilson
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · HS Varsity Football