Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Jumping from 1D2 to 1D3, 1Ds2 or 5D2?

Mikael B

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Jumping from 1D2 to 1D3, 1Ds2 or 5D2?

Hi,

This is my first post here although I have been reading the forum for maybe 4 years =). Wanted to have advice from the great people here.

I currently have 20D, 30D and 1D2 which I'm currently selling. I thought that I don't anymore need several cameras, but would be ok with just one. 1D2 has been the camera I've been using for past 2 years. When selling some of my gear I will end up with a budget of around 1k. With that budget I could be getting following FF or APS-H bodies: 5D2, 1Ds2 or 1D3. Now the question would be, what would be the "best" upgrade from 1D2.

When I bought 1D2 I was doing some occasional birding, but I think my preference has shifted now a bit more towards kids (have girl just over 1 year). I do like to shoot some macro, again occasional birding, now kids, some landscape... basically a bit of everything =). What do you think would be the best upgrade for this type of shooting from 1D2? I have 17-40L, 50 1.8, 100L and 70-300L. I think most of the prints would be 4x6 and few rare would go as A4 size.

The way I see it:

1D3: Performance wise it is better than 1D2 in every aspect and adds live view, MA, sensor cleaning, new menu system, silent shutter and sensor cleaning.

1Ds2: FPS reduced to 5 FPS (not a deal breaker in my opinion), but adds more MP, bigger VF and FF. Maybe small enchancement in ISO from 1D2? Maybe a small advantage on having a bit higher count 1Ds2 would be possibility to exchange 17-40L to 24-70L and still keep within the budget.