Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Buying a D3 Monday - still worth it?

Awasos23
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Buying a D3 Monday - still worth it?

I normally hate these types of posts, but with the onslaught of new cameras from Nikon, I'm having some doubts. I'm a working photographer, and as such I don't like to spend more money than necessary when buying equipment. I currently use a D300 and a D2x, and am generally happy with the quality that I get out of them, using the D2x for day assignments, and the D300 for nights and some sports. The D300 is beat though, from 4 years of heavy use for newspapers and other clients. It's getting very high on the shutter count and I'm thinking of a "new" camera to replace it. I love the feel of the D2x, but would like a camera that is full frame and better in lowlight, especially for sports work. I also use the built in mic all the time, so that when I'm running around assignments, I don't have to pause, write something down and then try to remember which name went with what photo when I get back to the office.