Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

1       2       3              6      
       8       end

Archive 2012 · Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L II tested by Roger Cicala

danZphoto

Upload & Sell: Off
p.7 #1 · p.7 #1 · Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L II tested by Roger Cicala

surf monkey wrote:
Wow. There must be a lot of deep pockets out there.
How do you find out about B&H?

Call and ask!

Sep 13, 2012 at 12:53 PM
danZphoto

p.7 #2 · p.7 #2 · Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L II tested by Roger Cicala

netexpress wrote:
The new 24-70 II lens is a photo-journalist staple.

For 21 years, I worked as a photographer at one of the larger papers in the country. I almost never used the mid-range lens. Once macro was put into it, I stopped carrying the prime macro, but still didn't use the lens very much. When we went digital, the APS-C sensors eliminated the wide end, but made the long end a little more useful. But It's just an iffy, wishy-washy perspective overall. And the Mk I was just too damned fragile to leave on a camera.

When I left the paper, I started using the 24-70 a lot more for events and the like, the kind of pictures I would never have to make as a photojournalist. My copy is exceptionally sharp, right after it's been to CPS. So, the lens always get's returned to a cushy, protected and comfortable spot as soon as I'm finished using it, and it's never left on the camera. Sort or limits it's usefulness, no?. Too delicate and unreliable. So...I've ordered a Mk II. What suckers we are. Shouldn't Canon have made these lenses right, the first time?